With some exceptions, the minimum wage in California is $8.00 per hour. Unfortunately, many employers still try to cheat unskilled workers by paying a lower rate or getting around the rules.
If your employer has violated the law by paying you less than minimum wage, you may be entitled to back wages plus several different types of penalties for each and every pay period. Contact the San Francisco minimum wage violation attorneys at The Armstrong Law Firm to discuss your potential legal options.
San Francisco Minimum Wage: $16.99/Hour
Why Choose The Armstrong Law Firm?
The Armstrong Law Firm helps victims of minimum wage violations stand up for their legal rights and holds employers accountable for violating federal and state wage laws. Our experienced San Francisco attorneys produce results for clients both inside and outside of the courtroom.
At The Armstrong Law Firm, our legal team is:
- Skilled in negotiations and litigation;
- Resourceful and driven; and
Meet with a San Francisco minimum wage violation attorney to learn more about wage and hour claims, unfair workplace practices, and pursuing your employer for any compensation unjustly withheld from you. Your initial consultation is complimentary and at no risk to you.
How an Experienced San Francisco Minimum Wage Violation Attorney Can Help
At The Armstrong Law Firm, one of our San Francisco minimum wage violation attorneys will thoroughly review your situation for employer wrongdoing. If you have a legal claim, an attorney will advise you of all of your legal options and their possible outcomes.
When you choose an attorney from The Armstrong Law Firm for your wage violation claim, we will take any legal action appropriate on your behalf.
This may include:
- Investigating your claim;
- Gathering any evidence to support your claim;
- Assessing your personal and financial losses;
- Calculating your damages;
- Negotiating a fair damages settlement with your employer; or
- Filing a lawsuit against your employer.
Learn more about wage claim violations in San Francisco by contacting The Armstrong Law Firm today. Our experienced attorneys know the tactics employers use to avoid paying employees the compensation they deserve!
Who Can File a California Minimum Wage Violation Claim?
All California employees can file a minimum wage violation claim. Immigration status does not matter nor does status as any of the following types of worker(s):
- Full-time worker;
- Part-time worker;
- Temporary worker;
- Seasonal worker; or
- Independent contractors.
However, there is a time limit to file a minimum wage violation in California.
What is the Time Limit to File a California Minimum Wage Violation Claim?
The statute of limitations, or time limit, to file a California minimum wage violation claim is typically three years from the date of the violation. The time limit is extended to four years for employers who exhibit a pattern of wage theft.
What Tactics Do Employers Use to Avoid Paying the Minimum Wage?
As of January 1st, 2023, California’s minimum wage rate of $15.50 per hour is higher than the federal minimum wage. However, most employers doing business in California must pay the higher state rate.
Employers who avoid paying the minimum wage use a variety of tactics to do so. Some of these are as follows:
- Intentionally paying less than minimum wage;
- Incorrectly exempting employees from minimum wage rules;
- Continuing to pay employees a “training wage” or “student rate”;
- Taking advantage of employees’ immigration status;
- Paying employees “under the table”;
- Paying employees a salary that averages out to less than the minimum hourly wage allowable;
- Failing to pay employees overtime as a minimum wage worker); and
*Employers in California must pay employees the full minimum wage regardless of any tips they receive. Management and owners are not permitted to withhold or retain any portion of their employees’ tips.
What Remedies are Available to California Employees for Minimum Wage Violations?
There are specific types of compensation available to victims of minimum wage violations. The amount of damages will vary with the facts of the case.
However, victims of successful claims typically receive:
- Overtime pay;
- Interest on any missing wages;
- Attorney’s fees; and
- Lawsuit costs.
Successful minimum wage violation claims rely heavily on documentation. Victims should provide their attorneys with as much information as possible.
What Documentation Can Strengthen a California Minimum Wage Violation Claim?
The more information a victim can provide their attorney at the beginning of their claim, the better. This allows the attorney to build a case faster and stronger than starting without needed evidence.
At an initial meeting with a minimum wage violation attorney, a victim should bring any:
- Pay stubs;
- Journals with dates and times of the violations;
- Job descriptions;
- Compensation rates; and
- Other relevant information.
Victims should not wait to meet with a minimum wage violation attorney in San Francisco. Preparing a wage violation claim takes time, and California has strict deadlines governing these matters.
Schedule A Free Consultation Today
We handle both individual claims and class action lawsuits. For a consultation with one of our expert minimum wage violation attorneys in San Francisco, call The Armstrong Law Firm at (415) 909-3945 or contact us online.
DID YOU KNOW…
SF was the 1st U.S. city with a minimum wage exceeding $10.00 an hour.
Well, it’s true. On Jan. 01, 2012, the minimum wage rose from $9.92 to $10.24/hr, and the city rejoiced!